Log in

Indiana Association of Building Officials

Awards and Scholarships

Earl E. Bowman Award for Meritorious Service

The Indiana Association of Building Officials dedicates this award to the memory of Earl E. Bowman; who lost his life on July 3, 2002 during a routine building inspection in Huntington County and is our only Line of Duty Death.  Nominations for the award shall be submitted to the Association Office at least sixty (60) days before the Annual Business Meeting and the recipient shall be chosen by the Board of Directors at a regular business meeting at least 60 days before the Annual Business Meeting. Nominees must be in good standing, will have demonstrated dedication and personal achievement, and have brought honor to their career, to their community and to the Indiana Association of Building Officials.

Click here for the nomination form for the Earl E. Bowman Award.

Past Recipients:
2017  Shad Paul
2018  Craig Wagner
2019  Brian Baker
2020  Not awarded
2021  James J. Straws
2022  Bob and Peggy Bullock
2023  Michelle Cox

Nick Nicholson Education Award

This award shall be awarded to a current member in good standing who best demonstrates a positive influence on the Association’s members through his/her involvement in the Association’s education programs by the teaching of code classes or by serving on any of the committees which are involved in the furthering of the educational goals of the Association.

Wm. "Nick"Nicholson was an inspector, Building Commissioner, IABO President, and Director within the State Building Commissioner's office.  A posthumous award was named for him as he was an outstanding proponent of promoting the inspectors' profession through education.  He served as chairman of IABO's Education Committee multiple times, and was always involved in assisting both departments and individuals in performing their service and becoming certified in their professions.  The award recognizes the member who embodies the effort and exceeds the call to further the ability of building inspectors in their vital and complex responsibilities.

Click here for the nomination form for the Nick Nicholson Education Award.

Past Recipients
2009  Craig Wagner
2010  Tom Przybylinski
2011  Not awarded
2012  Not awarded
2013  Not awarded
2014  Bobby LaRue
2015  Kurk Sylvester
2016  James J. Straws
2018  Bob Bullock
2019  Michael Popich
2020  Not awarded
2021  Shelly Wakefield
2022  Kenneth Seal

Herman H. Darlage Memorial Scholarship

Herman H. Darlage, 1927-1990, for over 30 years was the City of Columbus/Bartholomew County Building Commissioner. He served 2 terms as President of the Indiana Association of Building Officials, Inc. (1976-1977 & 1979-1980). Herman touched the lives of all he knew and had a passion for the Association and furthering building & fire safety through education.  Herman was appointed by Governor Robert D Orr, M.D. to the first Fire Prevention and Building Safety Commission in 1984, representing local building officials for two terms.

The Indiana Association of Building Officials, Inc.in honor of Herman’s passion for education created and sustains the Herman H. Darlage Memorial Scholarship to promote education with the intent of giving back to our communities by supporting youth, and to honor the spirit exemplified by Herman H. Darlage and shared by our members – that of enduring excellence through education.

Application deadline for the 2024 scholarships is July 15, 2024.

Click here for the Scholarship Application

Click here for the Transcript Form

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software