Log in

Indiana Association of Building Officials

IABO Scholarships - Deadline to Apply July 1

14 Mar 2018 4:07 PM | Anonymous

Herman H. Darlage, 1927-1990, for over 30 years was the City of Columbus/Bartholomew County Building Commissioner. He served 2 terms as President of the Indiana Association of Building Officials, Inc. (1976-1977 & 1979-1980). Herman touched the lives of all he knew and had a passion for the Association and furthering building & fire safety through education. Herman was appointed by Governor Robert D Orr, M.D. to the first Fire Prevention and Building Safety Commission in 1984, representing local building officials for two terms.

The Indiana Association of Building Officials, Inc. in honor of Herman's passion for education created and sustains the Herman H. Darlage Memorial Scholarship to promote education with the intent of giving back to our communities by supporting youth, and to honor the spirit exemplified by Herman H. Darlage and shared by our members - that of enduring excellence through education.


Each year, the Indiana Association of Building Officials awards scholarships to individuals who choose to continue their education and is currently enrolled or will enroll in an accredited college or trade school. Scholarships are awarded to individuals regardless of affiliation with the organization. In the past we have awarded yearly amounts ranging from $500 - $1500 to individuals who have completed the application, submitted all required information by the posted deadline date and went through the evaluation process by the Scholarship Committee. Please forward the included application to anyone you feel might be deserving of this opportunity. All applications must be received by July 1st, 2018 to be considered.

Scholarship Application
Transmittal Form 


In order to raise funds so that we may continue to provide these scholarships and give back to those we serve, we will hold a silent auction, cornhole tournament, and other fundraising activities at the Indiana Code Education Conference. The conference will be held April 23rd - 26th, 2018 at the Hilton Fort Wayne at the Grand Wayne Center, located in Fort Wayne, IN. In order to raise the most money possible to fund these scholarships, we ask for your assistance through donations that you may be able to provide to aid us in this endeavor. Any monetary or merchandise donations received will be recognized during our annual Banquet Dinner held during the conference.


We sincerely appreciate your willingness to help provide educational opportunities for the next generation and ask that you send donations to the IABO office, 17437 Carey Road #265, Westfield, IN 46074. Should you have any questions, please contact me at (260) 356-5146 or Sara Nash, Executive Director at (317) 824-0940. We thank you in advance for any donations or contributions that you may be able to provide in order to ensure a successful scholarship program.




Shad Paul

First Vice President IABO / Scholarship Committee Chairman



Scholarship Committee Members: James Straws IABO President & w/IDHS, Craig Wagner w/Whitley County, Myron Grise & Travis Eash w/City of Goshen and Scott Thomas w/ Goshen Fire Department.


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software